Tue | May 24, 2022

Bravo returns, but no Sarwan

Published:Tuesday | March 9, 2010 | 12:00 AM


Marquee batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan will take no part in the Zimbabwe series after being left out of a 14-man squad named yesterday for the final three one-dayers, as West Indies selectors continue to carefully guard his return to international cricket.

He has not played international cricket since last December after sustaining a back injury on the Test tour of Australia and subsequently aggravating the problem in the build-up to the WICB regional first -lass championship in January.

CMC Sports understands that the West Indies selectors are not keen on rushing Sarwan back to action, especially with crucial campaigns in the ICC World Twenty20 Championship and South Africa series around the corner.

West Indies host the T20 Championship from April 30 to May 16 and clash with highly ranked South Africa in three Tests and five ODIs immediately following.

Sarwan scored a century in a first-class match for Guyana last week, paving the way for his return to the squad, but was subsequently overlooked for the first two matches in his homeland Guyana.

He practised with the squad last weekend, however, and should feature in the upcoming assignments.

Predictably, energetic all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been included in the squad after making a full recovery from a finger injury sustained while playing in Australia's Twenty20 Big Bash in January.


He is one of two changes to the squad with his younger brother, Darren, also recalled after being dropped following the one-off T20 international in T&T.

All-rounder Dwayne Smith has apparently paid the price for his indiscretion in the first ODI and has been dropped, along with the out-of-form Andre Fletcher.

The Arnos Vale Stadium in St Vincent will host the final three ODIs, starting with the first tomorrow, and concluding with matches on Friday and Sunday.

Chris Gayle (captain), Adrian Barath, Sulieman Benn, David Bernard, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy.