Thu | Jun 8, 2023

Clarke's Town hunt lead at Kinloss

Published:Thursday | March 18, 2010 | 12:00 AM

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:

Clarke's Town FC, which lost their top spot in the National Rums of Jamaica-sponsored Trelawny Major Football League last weekend, will be aiming to reclaim the lead this afternoon when they host Kinloss at Hyde playing field in Clarke's Town.

In other games this afternoon, Dromilly will be at home to Sherwood Content, while Flames will play away to Palmento.

All three games are slated for a 3: 30 p.m. start.


Clarke's Town FC, which led the competition's standings for the first four rounds, dropped points for the first time in a fifth round 1-0 loss to Holland and surrendered two points this past Sunday afternoon in a 2-2 draw against struggling Sherwood Content.

As a consequence of Clarke's Town's slip, which left them on 13 points, the unbeaten Harmony and former champions Holland, which both secured good wins on Sunday, are now joint leaders of the 12-team competition with 14 points each.

Entering their game against Upsetters on Sunday - with three wins and two draws from five games - Harmony turned in a fine performance in their 4-2 win.

Compelling performance

Holland, which entered their game against Palmento United with a similar record to Harmony's, had to battle hard for their 1-0 win, which left them level on points at the top.

In other sixth-round games, Kinloss turned in a compelling performance to upstage Granville 4-1, while Duanvale and Spicey Hill played to a 0-0 draw. The game between Flames and Dromilly was not played.

The competition has produced 85 goals to date, with Harmony being the most prolific team with 14 goals. Clarke's Town and Kinloss are joint second with nine each. Sherwood Content have the worse defensive record, conceding 15 goals.

The winner of the competition will earn a whooping $150,000 and the National Rums Trophy.

The full points standings read as follows: Harmony 14, Holland 14, Clarke's Town 13, Kinloss 12, Duanvale 10, Spicey Hill 7, Palmento United 6, Granville 6, Flames 5, Sherwood Content 4, Dromilly 3 and Upsetters 3.