Mon | Sep 26, 2022

Murphy heads 70-member Carifta team

Published:Tuesday | March 23, 2010 | 12:00 AM
Jazeel Murphy of Bridgeport High will defend the sprint double in the Under-17 boys' division

Natoya Goule, Kemoy Campbell, Shericka Jackson and Jazeel Murphy are some of the main athletes listed in Jamaica's 70-member team to participate at the Carifta Games, which will be held in The Cayman Islands from April 3-5.

The hugely talented Murphy of Bridgeport High will defend the sprint double in the Under-17 boys' division, while Jackson will be looking to secure a 200-400 double in the girls' equivalent.

Goule and Campbell have completely dominated middle-distance running at the meet in recent years and should easily maintain that trend.

Holmwood's principal, Paul Bailey, is chef de mission, while ISSA's competition officer, George Forbes, is the team leader. Dotlyn Daley is the assistant manager and Dr Gwyn Jones is team doctor and physiotherapist.

David Riley is the team's head coach and will be assisted by Andrew Kidd, Rahmsomn Edwards and PierAnnBrown, Orville Thompson, Nicholas Neufville and Marlon Gayle.

The team leaves on April 1 and returns on the 6th.

All selectees should contact the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association immediately with passport information.

Team members:

Under-17 girls: Kadisha Dallas, Channiel Johnson, Shericka Jackson, Saqukine Cameron, Olivia James, Marlene Eubanks, Aleitha McLaughlin, Megan Simmonds, Shenel Francis, Chanice Porter, Opal James, Gleneive Grange, Taska Johnson, Kimone Green and Kristagaye Taylor

Under-17 boys: Odane Skeen, Jazheel Murphy, Odail Todd, Lennox Williams, Omari McDonald, Oshane Turner, Aaron Lee, Davian Dennis, Sadeki Street, Ashani Wright, Clive Pullen, Javar Fairclough, Demar Robinson, Kashif Ford, Chadrick DaCosta and Fedrick Dacres

Under-20 girls: Natasha Morrison, Danielle Williams, Diandre Gilbert, Yanique Elllington, Antonique Campbell, Orenthia Bennett, Natoya Goule, Sharlene Brown, Sharlene Nickle, Tonique Sobah, Samantha Elliott, Ristananna Tracey, Daniele Dowie, Petagaye Reid, Shanice Hall, Rochelle Farquharson, Janieve Russell, Candicea Bernard and Sasha Gaye Marston

Under-20 boys: Travis Smikle, Julian Forte, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Jermaine Gayle, Demar Murray, Kevin White, Donahue Williams, Kemoy Campbell, Stefan Fennell, Kamal Fuller, Nolan Williams, Dwayne Extol, David Hall, Ramone Bailey, Brandon Tomlinson, Bernado Brady, Jonathan Reid, Devon Dobson, Ashinia Miller and Chad Wright.