Tue | Mar 21, 2023

Salt Spring teams score big wins

Published:Wednesday | March 31, 2010 | 12:00 AM

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:

THE TWO Salt Spring teams - Salt Spring United and Salt Spring Roses - were among four who emerged victorious, as action continued in the 2009-10 Claro sponsored St James Senior League football competition on Monday afternoon with five third-round games across the parish.

Salt Spring United blanked Mountain Villa 3-0. In their match-up with Mount Salem United, Salt Spring Roses came away with a 3-1 win.

By virtue of their win, Salt Spring United and Salt Spring are now jointly locked in third place in the competition's six-team Zone A with four points each.

In other games played on Monday, unbeaten Fogo United and Abes registered 1-0 wins against Granville City and Melbourne in Zone B games. In the third Zone A game, Barrett Town dropped their first points in three starts as they battled to a 1-1 draw with Revelation.

Sealing the deal

In their game against Mountain Villa, Kelvin Vassell fired Salt Spring United into a 16th-minute 1-0 lead. Jason Bailey doubled the lead in the 23rd minute, giving Salt Spring United a 2-0 half-time cushion. The veteran Omar Clarke sealed the issue in the 54th minute, making the final score 3-0.

Against Mount Salem, Salt Spring Roses snatched victory through goals from Anthony Bowen in the 34th minute, Davian Clayton in the 40th minute and Omallie Malcolm in the 58th minute. Luke Mauir got Mount Salem's consolation goal, in the 60th minute.

With the third round of the 12-team competition now completed, the full point standings in the two zones read as follows: Zone A: Barrett Town, seven; Revelation, five; Salt Spring United, four; Salt Spring Roses, four; Mountain Villa, two, and Mount Salem, one. Zone B: Tomorrow's People, 12; Fogo United, seven; Melbourne, six; Granville City, three; Abes, three, and Gully Ambassadors, one.

In the Claro Division One competition, which is also being contested by 12 teams in two zones, the point standings read: Zone A: Copperwood, seven; Rosemount, six; Juniors FC, six; Little Miami, four; Westgreen, three, and Upsetters, zero. Zone B: Marl Road, four; Boys Club, four; Champions, three; Reggae Youth, two; Seaview, two, and Defenders, one.