Sat | Mar 25, 2023

Young Windies trio picked in A team

Published:Thursday | April 8, 2010 | 12:00 AM

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

Three players who helped West Indies Under-19s to the semi-finals of the Youth World Cup earlier this year have been picked in a 13-man 'A' side to face Zimbabwe in a short series in Grenada later this month.

Prolific opener Kraigg Brathwaite, along with wicketkeeper/batsman Shane Dowrich and lanky fast bowler Jason Holder, will join several other young first class players in the squad announced Monday by regional selectors.

Windies A are scheduled to play a four-day game and two Twenty20 matches against the Zimbabweans, as the tourists warm up for the World Twenty20 Championship starting in the Caribbean on April 30.

Tipped for senior team

At 17-years-old, Brathwaite has already been widely tipped for senior team duty and was called up when the region's first choice players opted not to play during the heated contracts dispute last year, though he did not play.

The right-hander was the second highest run-scorer in the Youth World Cup, garnering 335 runs, including four half-centuries in six innings.

Dowrich, meanwhile, is a competent keeper who can score quickly down the order and his 229 runs in the Youth World Cup, with a highest score of 84 against Papua New Guinea, was proof of his handiwork.

Holder was another top performer in that tournament, nabbing 12 wickets in the tournament which was just off the top haul of 15.

Wickets taken

The Barbadian trio will join the likes of leg-spinner Imran Khan, who was outstanding for Trinidad and Tobago in the just concluded WICB regional first class championship where he took 41 wickets at just over 16 runs apiece.

Fellow Trinidadian Justin Guillen has been rewarded for his 419 runs in the four-day competition, while Barbadian Jason Haynes' 432 runs have also earned him a spot in the team.

Guyanese Travis Dowlin is the only member of the squad with senior international experience.

The Windies selectors are yet to name a captain for the squad for the series which bowls off April 16.

SQUAD: Brandon Bess, Kraigg Brathwaite, Travis Dowlin, Shane Dowrich, Kirk Edwards, Assad Fudadin, Shannon Gabriel, Justin Guillen, Jason Haynes, Jason Holder, Imran Khan, Nelon Pascal, Shane Shillingford.