Fri | Jan 27, 2023

Zenyatta sends the right signals

Published:Saturday | November 6, 2010 | 12:00 AM

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky (AP):

Zenyatta sent trainer John Shirreffs all the right signals yesterday, one day before she tries to make history with a repeat victory in the $5 million Breeders' Cup Classic.

"I always look for her to settle in her stall because she's in a new environment, so you'd like to see her get back to being like she would be at home," Shirreffs said. "Comfortable, not really paying attention to what's going on around her. Today was very much like that."

It hasn't been easy to find a familiar routine with Zenyatta's every move closely scrutinised since her arrival from California on Tuesday.

"Today was a great day once again," Shirreffs said. "Back at the barn, we had a lot of people stopping by and taking pictures while she was out grazing. It's a time to appreciate what she's accomplished and what she's meant to so many people around the world. It's a time for me to sit back, relax and enjoy it."

Zenyatta had an easy morning with an uneventful 14-furlong gallop the day before she puts a perfect 19-0 record on the line in the 10-furlong race that concludes Breeders' Cup weekend at Churchill Downs.

"This morning we trained her a little more because yesterday she was a little into the bridle," Shirreffs said. "She was a little aggressive, so today she went twice around. This was her normal gallop in California. I was a little cautious the first couple of days here. She seemed to be into the bridle and full of energy so I let her do her regular gallop today."

Past winnersClassic

2009 - Zenyatta

2008 - Raven's Pass

2007 - Curlin

2006 - Invasor

2005 - Saint Liam

2004 - Ghostzapper

2003 - Pleasantly Perfect

2002 - Volponi

2001 - Tiznow

2000 -Tiznow

1999 - Cat Thief

1998 - Awesome Again

1997 - Skip Away

1996 - Alphabet Soup

1995 - Cigar

1994 - Concern

1993 - Arcangues

1992 - A.P. Indy

1991 - Black Tie Affair

1990 - Unbridled

1989 - Sunday Silence

1988 - Alysheba

1987 - Ferdinand

1986 - Skywalker

1985 - Proud Truth

1984 - Wild Again