Mon | Feb 6, 2023

Cabinet names heads of major state boards

Published:Thursday | March 15, 2012 | 12:00 AM
Lensley Wolfe
Maxine Henry-Wilson
William 'Bill' Clarke

Cabinet has approved the selection of former Chief Justice Lensley Wolfe as the new head of the Public Service Commission for the next three years, according to Minister with Responsibility for Information Sandrea Falconer.

Speaking at the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House in St Andrew yesterday, Falconer said the new chairman and the other members would serve for three years.

Wolfe will serve with former Financial Secretary Shirley Tyndall, the Reverend Karl Johnson, Professor Verene Shepherd and Anthony Irons, former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Labour.

Yesterday, Falconer also announced the appointment of former Education Minister Maxine Henry-Wilson as the new chair of the board of the Tourism Product Development Company.

Henry-Wilson is among several people identified as heads of government and quasi-government boards, who have been appointed to head major boards.

She served as education minister in the previous People's National Party administration, but did not contest the last general election. She was member of parliament for St Andrew South East.

Clarke to chair EXIM Bank

Also serving on a public board is former president and CEO of the Bank of Nova Scotia, William 'Bill' Clarke.

Clarke is the new chair of the ExIm Bank of Jamaica, Falconer said.

Clarke departed Scotiabank after an acrimonious end to his long career at the financial institution.

Falconer also announced that former Cabinet Secretary Dr Carlton Davis is the new chair of the board of FINSAC, while Walter Scott, the former chair of the Betting, Gaming, and Lotteries Commission, is to head the Casino Gaming Commission.

Other heads of board include:

Retired Justice Karl Harrison - Criminal Records Board

Clive Fagan - Montego Bay Freezone, who is also chair of the Kingston Freezone, as well as the Factories Corporation of Jamaica

Professor Winston Davidson - Standards Council of the Bureau of Standards

Ralph Thomas - MIDA

Doreen Frankson - Jamaica Business Development Corporation

Eric Crawfor will have Peter Young as his deputy at the International Financial Services Centre

Leon Gordon has Dr Michael Wittingham as his deputy at the North East Regional Health Authority

Fay Bell - Southern Regional Health Authority

George Duncan has Calvin G. Brown as his deputy at the Western Regional Health Authority

Lyttleton 'Tanny' Shirley has Dr Carol Archer as his deputy at the South East Regional Health Authority

Sterling Soares has Dr Lucien Jones as his deputy at the National Health Fund

Howard Mollison has Lorna Phillips as his deputy at Jamaica Mortgage Bank

Maureen Webber - Housing Agency of Jamaica

Elise Wright-Goffe - Land Admini-stration and Management Programme

Brian Wynter - Bank of Jamaica

Colin Bullock - Financial Services Commission

Dr Wesley Hughes - PetroCaribe Development Fund

Senator Noel Slolely - Tourism Enhancement Fund