Tue | Jun 15, 2021

Edwin Allen High cast dominates Carifta selections

Published:Sunday | March 18, 2012 | 12:00 AM
Calabar High School's Michael O'hara. File
Christania Williams

Raymond Graham, Sunday Gleaner Writer

ATHLETES from Edwin Allen dominate the Jamaica selection for next month's Carifta Games in Bermuda, with 11 picked from the Michael Dyke-coached team in a squad of 70 athletes.

The list includes 35 boys and 35 girls, who will compete in the Under-20 and Under-17 categories.

World Youth 100 metres bronze medallist, Christania Williams, who won the girl's Under-20 100 metres at the trials, heads the list of Edwin Allen athletes. Her schoolmate Monique Spencer, who finished second in the 100, is also on the Jamaica team.

However, Spencer will not compete for Edwin Allen at Champs this year as she transferred from Oracabessa High to Edwin Allen last September.

Other Under-20 athletes from the school include Shawnette Lewin (200m), Desreen Montique (800m), Kimberly Williamson (high jump), Marleena Eubanks (1500m/3000m), Terrian Williams (400m hurdles), Tarasue Barnett (discus) and Claudette Allen (long jump).

Under-17 athletes from that institution will be led by double sprint champion at the trials, Seqkine Cameron, who will compete in both the 100 and 200 metres in Bermuda and Rochelle Frazer in the shot put. A notable omission from the Edwin Allen team is SashaGaye Marston, who finished second in the girl's Under-20 discus at the trials.


Vere Technical has six athletes, headed by World Youth 200 metres bronze medallist, Shericka Jackson, Olivia James (400m) and Sabrina Allen (triple jump), who will compete in the Under-20 age group. Their Under-17 athletes are Jehvania Whyte (high jump), Andrenette Knight (300m hurdles) and Yanique McNeil (400m).

Holmwood Technical has five representatives in Under-20 competitors Janieve Russell (400m hurdles) and Glenieve Grange (discus and pentathlon), and Under-17s Tamara Moncrieffe (long jump), Lisa Buchanan (800m) and defending 100m hurdles champion Yanique Thompson.

Other female selections are: St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) - Under-20 Petagaye Reid (high jump), Leith McLaughlin (1500m/3000m), Under-17 - Channel Smith (1500m); St Jago - Under-20 - Gene Leith (400m), Keelson Knob (javelin, shot put), Chrisdale McCarthy (100m hurdles), Under-17 - Semoy Hemmings (400m), Samara Spencer (long jump); Hydel - Under-20 - Petagaye Williams (100m hurdles); Camperdown - Under-20 - Simoya Campbell (800m); Spaldings - Under-17 - Venice Harris (shot put); St Andrew High - Under-17 - Shaun Helps (100m) Wolmer's Girl's; Anew Brisket (200m) Under 17 - Eltham High and Tiffany James of Papine High, who will compete in the Under-17 800m.

Calabar High School has the most selected boys, with Under-17 double champion at trials, Michael O'hara, leading the way. He will compete in the 100m and 110m hurdles. His team-mates are World Youth discus champion Federick Dacres and Junior PanAm shot put champion Ashinia Miller, who will compete in the Under-20 category with Sadique Eddie (long jump), Jovan Francis (400m) and Demar Robinson (high jump). Among the Under-17s are Orville Dixon (1500m) and Shemar Kitson (shot put).

Wolmer's Boys' and Kingston College (KC) have four selections each. Wolmer's Boys' have Yanick Hart (110m hurdles) under-20, Karey Kelly (200m), Christoff Bryan (high jump), Javier Ogilvie (high jump) - Under-17; KC - Stephan Fennell (110m hurdles), Xavier Boland (pole vault), Keneil Grant (long jump) and Alex

Saunders (800m) Under-20; Jamaica College - Devaughn Baker (400m) and Given Gibson (triple jump) Under-17; Manchester High - Lennox Williams (400m), Omar McLeod (400m hurdles) Under-20; St Jago High - Ivan Henry (400m), Webster Pennant (1500m) Under-17; Ardenne - Xandre Blake - 200m Under-17; Bellefield - Orane Wint (5000m); Bog Walk High - Jevaughn Minzies (100/200m) Under-20; Bridgeport High - Jahzeel Murphy (100m) Under-20; Green Island - Odail Todd (200m) Under-20; Munro College - Emmanuel Onyia (shot put) under-20; Racers Track Club - Shavon Barnes (400m hurdles); STETHS - Okeen Williams (400m hurdles) Under-17; Vere Technical - Marvin Williams (400m hurdles) Under-17; Edwin Allen High - Demar Gayle (discus) Under-17; Leighton Spencer - 3000m under-17.

Management: chef de mission - Everton Walters (principal, Edwin Allen); manager - Ewan Scott, assistant manager - Chester McCarthy, Trudy Williams; head coach - Horace Michael Vassell (St Hugh's); coaches Milton Brown (STETHS), Marlon Gayle (Edwin Allen), Dean Tomlin (Bellefield), Fernando Douglas (St George's College), Megan Wilson-Copeland (Spaldings High); doctor - Carl Bruce; and physiotherapist - Nicholas Bromley.