Sat | Dec 2, 2023

Isaacs, Haldane shine at Doubles Mania

Published:Tuesday | March 27, 2012 | 12:00 AM

Caribbean junior champion Gerald Isaacs and Mikaylia Haldane were the top performers in the Lucozade-sponsored Doubles Mania Badminton competition, which was held on Sunday at the Constant Spring Golf Club's Racquet Complex.

Both players won a maximum of two wins in the open section of the tournament. The competition had 173 doubles entries in the Open B, C and D Divisions.

Isaacs and Haldane, who were the mixed doubles runners-up at last year's Caribbean Junior Championships, captured the mixed doubles title when they defeated Garron Palmer and Geordine Henry 25-23, 21-19.

Isaacs teamed with Palmer to easily beat Dennis Coke and last year's Jamaica junior champion, Anthony McNee, 21-9, 21-11 in the Open men's doubles final. Isaacs and Palmer are also the reigning All Jamaica doubles senior champions.

Haldane's second win came in the ladies doubles, when she teamed with her mixed doubles opponent, Geordine Henry, to defeat the veteran pair of Christine Leyow-Mayne and Amande Low 21-17, 21-13.

Mixed doubles trophy

Jamari Rose also had a good showing at the tournament as he captured two Division B titles. Rose won the men's doubles title with Jemarey Gordon and the mixed doubles trophy with Ruth Williams.

One of the most outstanding performances of the championships came from nine-year-old Shezelle McTyson and her 11-year-old partner, Taina Daley, who narrowly missed making it to the D ladies final, but got to the C final, where they beat established C players in the process.

Maurice McLaren and Kamaro Morgan defeated Abdull Freckleton and Roderick McIntosh 21-15, 21-17 to win the Divisional C League trophy. Christina Petri and Esther Reynolds won the ladies equivalent by outclassing Taina Daley and Shezelle McTyson 21-13, 21-18. Kevon Hoilett and Crystal Smith beat Shane Wilson and Alana Bailey 21-12, 22-20 to claim the mixed trophy.

Osaze McKinson and Romario Smith won the Divisional D title by defeating Omari March and Matthew Lee 21-17, 18-21, 21-17, while Seyena Simpson and Demetra Mew defeated Shanique Shepherd and Shantel Mighty 21-15, 21-18 to take home the ladies equivalent.