Mon | Sep 20, 2021

Philips, Burrowes for Carlton Alexander awards

Published:Monday | May 7, 2012 | 12:00 AM

Dr. Peter Phillips, Minister of Finance, Planning and the Public Service, and Stafford Burrowes, chairman and chief executive officer of Dolphin Cove, have been selected as the 2011recipients of the Carlton Alexander Awards for excellence for their contribution to politics and business respectively.

Carlton Alexander is a former chairman and chief executive officer of GraceKennedy & Company Limited who attended Jamaica College (JC).

The award is presented annually to JC old boys who have excelled in their field of work and make a significant contribution to their alma mater.

Dr. Phillips was chosen for his contribution to the development of JC, located at Old Hope Road, St. Andrew.

He is also been recognized for his career in government, politics and academia.

Dr. Phillips has served in a number of ministerial capacities, including national security, health, and transport and works.

He is a former lecturer in the Department of Government and the Consortium Graduate School at the University of the West Indies and has published papers on a variety of Caribbean developmental issues.

Burrowes is being recognised for his work in redefining the tourism attraction sector in Jamaica.

He conceived and developed Dolphin Cove in Ocho Rios, St. Ann, a marine attraction where guests are allowed to swim with the mammals in their natural environment. Since that development in 2001, the concept has been extended to Montego Bay, St. James and Lucea, Hanover.

Dolphin Cove, which is listed on the Jamaica Stock Exchange, almost tripled its net profit at the end of its financial year ended December 2011 to J$204.5 million from J$69.2 million in 2010.

Burrowes has also won a number of business and tourism awards.

In 2010 he was awarded the Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer Class in recognition of his contribution to the development of tourism in Jamaica.

The Carlton Alexander award was initiated in 1990 and is now in its 20th year.

Past recipients include R. Danny Williams, chairman of Jamaica College; Richard Byles, chief executive officer of Sagicor Life Jamaica, and Michael Campbell, former managing director of Carreras.

The awards ceremony takes place on June 20 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston.