Wed | May 25, 2022

Caribbean Wesleyan College gets UCJ accreditation

Published:Saturday | May 26, 2012 | 12:00 AM
The Reverend Lorrel Garwood (left) receives a citation from Indiana Wesleyan University following his installment as the new president of the Caribbean Wesleyan College during a graduation ceremony. Making the presentation is Dr Clarence Bence of Indiana Wesleyan University. - Dalton Laing photo

Dalton Laing, Gleaner Writer

TORRINGTON, Westmoreland:

With more than 70 years offering theological and pastoral training, the Caribbean Wesleyan College in Torrington, Westmoreland, is now a fully accredited institution under the umbrella of the University Council of Jamaica.

The accreditation was received in December 2011, and eight regional students formed the historic graduation class as the first batch of graduates under the new status.

The graduation ceremony was held at the Torrington Holiness Church, which on Friday was the venue where the Reverend Lorrel Garwood was installed as the new president of the college. He took over from the Reverend Wesley Johnson, who is now retired.

Garwood, in his address, said come September, the college would be offering a Bachelor of Arts in the area of guidance and counselling. This would add to the bachelor's and associate degree in theology and pastoral ministry, as well as the Christian education degrees.

He also announced that the local college would be twinning with the main campus - Indiana Wesleyan University - to offer the Master of Divinity and Master of Arts in Leadership.

Divine guidance

Former associate professor specialising in Old Testament at Houghton College in New York, Dr Kelvin Friebel, was the keynote speaker at the graduation ceremony. He emphasised to the graduates to allow God to be the potter in their lives, in keeping with the theme of the graduation: "Crafted by the Potter's Hand."

The graduating class list reads, Leonie Nicole Barnes, Nadira Nadisha Burke-Sergeon, Leroy Anthony James, Josanna Lockhart, Sherion Andrea McDonald, Cynthia Paulette Reid, Nakia Tafarwoe Sergeon, and Henry Roland Watson.

Burke-Sergeon earned the Holiness Christian Church Award while James was awarded the Ministerial Development Award. The Paul and Ruth Ueki Award was won by Nakia Sergeon.