Sun | Jul 25, 2021

Bishoo finds form as WI A takes day one

Published:Sunday | June 17, 2012 | 12:00 AM


Out-of-favour senior team leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo made a welcome return to form as West Indies A had the better of the exchanges on the opening day of the decisive third unofficial Test against India A here Saturday.

The right-armer, who has struggled in the series with just a single wicket in the two matches so far, claimed three for 40 to help dismiss India A for 230 after they were sent in at the Beausejour Cricket Stadium.

He was supported by seamer Jonathan Carter who picked up three for 67.

Right-handed lower order batsman Jalaj Saxena top-scored with a breezy 61 while captain Cheteshwar Pujara got 33 and Ajinkya Rahane and Manoj Tiwary, 32 apiece.

In reply, West Indies A were 34 without loss, with Test opener Kieran Powell unbeaten on 16 and out-of-favour senior team batsman Kraigg Brathwaite on 13.

West Indies A reduced the visitors to 32 for two early on after left-arm speedster Delorn Johnson removed Abhinav Mukund for 10 to a catch at second slip by Carter and Rohit Sharma was then bowled for 12, shouldering arms to Carter.

Rahane and Pujara added 46 for the third wicket, before the right-handed Rahane fell just before lunch, caught behind off one from left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul that spun and bounced.

India A slipped to 116 for five in the post-lunch session before a sequence of small partnerships saw them past the 200-run mark.

Tiwary and wicketkeeper Wridd-himan Saha (27) put on 30 for the sixth wicket before Saha and Saxena added a further 33 for the seventh wicket.

Saxena was bold in his stroke-play, smashing 10 fours off just 59 balls.

He was Bishoo's second wicket, ninth out caught by Brathwaite at midwicket.

Bishoo's third wicket came when he bowled Parvinder Awana without scoring to wrap up the innings.

INDIA A 1st Innings

A Mukund c Carter b Johnson 10
A Rahane c wkp Thomas b Permaul 32
R Sharma b Carter 12
C Pujara run out 33
M Tiwary c Powell b Carter 32
R. Bist lbw b Bishoo 5
+W Saha c wkp Thomas b Carter 27
J Saxena c Brathwaite b Bishoo 61
A Darekar c Bishoo b McClean 0
S Ahmed not out 8
P Awana b Bishoo 0
Extras (b3, lb2, nb5) 10
TOTAL (all out, 74 overs) 230

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-32, 3-78, 4-100, 5-116, 6-146, 7-179, 8-208, 9-230, 10-230.

Bowling: Johnson 10-5-19-1, McClean 18-2-58-1, Carter 15-2-67-3, Permaul 19-8-41-1, Bishoo 12-1-40-3.

WEST INDIES A 1st Innings

K Brathwaite not out 13
K Powell not out 16
Extras (lb5) 5
TOTAL (without loss, 14 overs) 34

To bat: K Corbin, N Bonner, J Carter, D Pagon, +D Thomas, K McClean,V Permaul D Johnson, D Bishoo.

Bowling: Ahmed 7-1-13-0, Awana 5-1-12-0, Darekar 2-1-4-0.

Position: West Indies A require another 196 runs for first innings lead with all their wickets in tact.

Toss: West Indies A.

Umpires: Peter Nero, Nigel Duguid.