Nalbandian tossed from Queen's final
The Queen's Club final was halted abruptly when David Nalbandian injured a line judge, handing the title to Marin Cilic.
The 10th-seeded Nalbandian was leading in the second set yesterday when he kicked the small barrier surrounding the line judge in anger. A piece of the barrier then hit the line judge, causing bleeding on his left shin.
After checking on the line judge, the chair umpire decided to end the match.
The Argentine had been leading the sixth-seeded Cilic 7-6 (3), 3-4 in the grass-court Wimbledon warm-up when the incident occurred.
Nalbandian insisted he shouldn't have been disqualified.
"Sometimes you get very frustrated on court and it's tough to control that, and sometimes I do a mistake. So it's very tough to end a final like that,'' he said. "But sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP to play a lot of tournaments. They don't do anything (for) us, and today I do a mistake and I have to pay like that.
"I agree I do a mistake, but sometimes everybody do a mistake and I didn't feel it had to end like that, especially in a final.''
ATP rules state that any violent action will result in an automatic default.
"It's an unfortunate situation for everyone involved, the spectators, the tournament, the sponsors, the players and the linesman,'' Brad Drewett, ATP executive chairman and president, said in a statement. "David certainly did not mean for this to happen, however the rules are very clear in a situation like this and causing injury to someone is an automatic default for any player.''
Tournament director Chris Kermode said the unidentified line judge had received first-aid care but needed no further treatment after seeing a doctor.