Thu | Jun 17, 2021

Bolt scare for fans

Published:Friday | June 29, 2012 | 12:00 AM
Usain Bolt of the Racers' Track Club cruising to victory in his 100 metres heat on yesterday's opening day of the JAAA Supreme Ventures National Senior Championships at the National Stadium. Bolt clocked 10.06 seconds. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Ryon Jones, Staff reporter

The faithful spectators who turned out for yesterday's opening day of the JAAA Supreme Ventures National Senior Championships at the National Stadium held their breath in unison, as the starter called back heat one of the men's 100 metres suggesting someone had false-started and would be disqualified.

With the defending Olympic champion and world record holder, Usain Bolt, present in the race and the memory of his false start and eventual disqualification at last year's World Championship final still fresh in the minds of many, fans feared the worst.

There was much relief when it emerged that it was in fact Ainsley Waugh's 2012 100m Olympic dream that had ended.

On the second time of asking, Bolt coasted to a 10.06 seconds (wind/speed +0.2mps) clocking to take the race. Jacques Harvey of MVP was second in 10.15 while Mario Forsythe of Racers (10.18) was third.

The reigning World champion, Yohan Blake, got off to a good start in his quest to qualify for his first-ever Olympics and recorded the fastest time going into today's semi-finals.

The 'Beast', as Blake is dubbed, looked impressive in winning heat two of four. The Racers' Track Club athlete stopped the clock at 10.00 seconds (w/s +0.8) to finish ahead of clubmate Kemar Bailey-Cole (10.12) and former national champion out of Akan Track, Oshane Bailey (10.26).

It was an MVP clean sweep in heat three, as defending national champion Asafa Powell and Nesta Carter both crossed the line in 10.19 seconds (w/s +0.2), but Carter was deemed the winner. Nicholas Watson was third in 10.23 seconds.

"I just wanted to get the first four steps out of the way and keep my focus for the next 20 metres; it was a good run," Powell said of the race.

The final heat saw Michael Frater chase down the fast-starting Lerone Clarke to take victory in 10.09 seconds (w/s +1.3). Clarke crossed the line in 10.15 seconds to finish ahead of Racers' Kenroy Anderson (10.24).

In the women's 400m, MVP athlete Christine Day emerged as the fastest qualifier for the semi-finals which is scheduled for tomorrow at 7:15 p.m. Day stopped the clock at 51.50 seconds to take heat three with Domonique Blake placing second in 51.94.

Rosemarie Whyte of Racers was smooth in capturing heat two in 51.80. World Championship bronze medallist, Novlene Williams-Mills posted 52.18 to win heat one while 2008 Olympics silver medallist Shericka Williams clocked 52.13 to claim heat four. Williams was followed home by Racers' Davita Prendagast (52.32, while Holmwood standout athlete Chrisann Gordon clocked 52.40 for third and also progressed to the semi-finals.

On the men's side, national record holder Jermaine Gonzales was the fifth-fastest qualifier after winning heat three in 46.39 seconds.

The qualifiers for tomorrow's semi-final, set for 7:25 p.m., are led by Dane Hyatt who won heat five in 45.70. Heat two was captured by Errol Nolan (45.76), while heat four went to Gonzales' Racers' Club's Ricardo Chambers (46.19). Akheem Gauntlett's 47.44 was good enough for victory in heat one.

Other qualifiers include Oral Thompson (46.00) of Swept Club, Rusheen McDonald (46.02) and Edino Steele (46.11).

The opening event of the day saw reigning Olympic 400m hurdles champion, Melaine Walker, and MVP club teammate Kaliese Spencer comfortably progress to this evening's final.

Not eligible

Walker dipped below 55 seconds for the second time this year, as she stopped the clock at 54.88 to win heat two and progress as the fastest qualifier. Shevone Studdart was second in 56.09 seconds. Josan Lucas out of Trinidad and Tobago placed third, but is not eligible to compete in the final.

Holmwood Technical's Janieve Russell ran a career-best 57.04 seconds, which is the best time by a junior this year over the distance to place fourth ahead of Ristananna Tracey (57.92).

Spencer posted 55.92 to take heat one ahead of Daniel Dowie (56.85), Nickesha Wilson (56.95) and Sonali Merril (57.89).

The male equivalent saw Josef Roberston lead all qualifiers into tonight's final. Roberston took heat one in 50.03 seconds. Also advancing from the first heat was Roxroy Cato, who was second in 50.09 with former national champion Isa Phillips (50.21) claiming third.

Two-time national champion Leford Green crossed the line in 50.57 to take heat two ahead of veteran Danny McFarlane (50.96).

The other three men to advance to the final came from the third heat which was won by Trinidad and Tobago's Emmanuel Myers, but he will not feature in the final being a guest athlete. The three to progress were Brian Steele (50.14), Adrian Findley (50.24) and Sabriel Anderson 50.26 seconds.

Yesterday's lone final , the men's javelin, was won by G.C. Foster's Jeffery King with a throw of 60.35 metres. Robert Barnes (54.83m) placed second ahead of Demoy Henry (54.56m). None of the competitors, however, have achieved the A qualifying standard of 82 metres or the B standard of 79.5m.

Today's schedule

4:00 p.m: High Jump Heptathlon Final

5:00 p.m: Triple Jump Men Final

5:30 p.m: Discus Women Final

5:30 p.m: 100m Men Masters Final

5:40 p.m: 400m Men Masters Final

6:00 p.m. Shot Put Heptathlon Final

6:00 p.m.-6:55 p.m: opening ceremony

7:00 p.m: Long Jump Women Final

7:00 p.m: 800m Men Heats

7:15 p.m: 100m Women Semi-Finals

7:25 p.m: 100m Men Semi-Finals

7:30 p.m: Presentation - Discus Women

7:35 p.m: 5000m Men Final

8:00 p.m: Presentation - Triple Jump Men

8:20 p.m: 400m Hurdles Women Final

8:30 p.m: 400m Hurdles Men Final

8:35 p.m: Presentation - Long Jump Women

8:40 p.m: 1500m Women Final

8:50 p.m: 1500m Men Final

8:55 p.m: Presentation - 5000m Men

9:00 p.m: 200m Heptathlon Final

9:05 p.m: Presentations - 400m Hurdles Men & Women

9:15 p.m: 100m Women Final

9:20 p.m: Presentations -1500m Men & Women

9:25 p.m: 100m Men Final

9:30 p.m: Presentations - 100m Men & Women