Wed | Dec 8, 2021

Dr Lyew-Ayee Jr returns from Eisenhower Fellowship

Published:Monday | May 26, 2014 | 12:00 AM
Dr Parris Lyew-Ayee Jr - Contributed

Dr Parris Lyew-Ayee Jr has returned to Jamaica following a seven-week programme in the United States to investigate ways to improve data-driven decision making in Jamaica. Dr Lyew-Ayee Jr was sponsored by the prestigious Eisenhower Fellowships programme, chaired by General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret).

Dr Lyew-Ayee Jr visited 13 cities, conducting more than 45 meetings with a range of individuals and organisations, ranging from several Fortune 500 companies, technology start-ups, top academic organisations and various federal and city organisations.

He visited multiple US military installations and city police departments, Silicon Valley companies, and federal scientific centres. He also delivered an invited lecture at Harvard University. He joined 23 other Eisenhower fellows from around the world and will continue to develop the relationships formed through the Eisenhower Fellow Alumni Network.

Nine Jamaicans, including Dr Lyew-Ayee Jr, have received Eisenhower Fellowships over the past 44 years, including Dr Earle Spencer Taylor in 1982, Dr Keith Panton in 1988, Morin Seymour in 1995 and Sandra Glasgow in 2000.

Outstanding leaders

Eisenhower Fellowships identifies, empowers and links outstanding leaders from around the world, helping them to achieve consequential outcomes across sectors and borders. The fellowship provide a transformational experience leading to lifetime engagement in a global network, where dialogue and collaboration make the world more prosperous, just and peaceful. Eisenhower Fellows spend two months in the United States to pursue an individually designed programme in their field of interest. The programme, customised to meet the goals of the Eisenhower Fellow, includes meetings with experts and leaders in the Fellow's field, and generally includes cultural site visits and hospitality.

Eisenhower Fellowships is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organisation seeking to foster international understanding and leadership through the exchange of information, ideas, and perspectives among emerging leaders throughout the world. Established in 1953 as a birthday tribute to President Dwight D. Eisenhower, the organisation has sponsored more than 1,900 Fellows from 108 countries.