Tue | Aug 3, 2021

Newnham tops Seafreight National Amateurs

Published:Tuesday | May 27, 2014 | 12:00 AM
William Brown, managing director & CEO, Seafreight Jamaica, presents the trophy to overall winner, Dr Mark Newnham, in Seafreight National Amateur Golf Championships. - contributed

With rounds of 71, 77 and 71, Dr Mark Newnham secured a major win and emerged the overall champion of the 2014 Seafreight National Amateur Golf Championships.

The tournament, which included Jamaica's best amateur golfers, took place at the Caymanas Golf & Country Club over the Labour Day weekend.

Caymanas-based Garth Howell, in his first appearance, took the overall title in the men's 0-6 category with 225 shots. Sean Morris took first place with 230 strokes.

Edwin Lowe captured the men's 7-11 group with a total of 241. Philip Prendergast took second place with 242.

André Foote, meanwhile, captured the 12-17 section with 271, while Clifton Johnson was a close second with 273.

top honours

Keith Stein, in his first event as a senior, took the overall senior champion crown with rounds of 76, 78 and 73 to end with 227.

Easton Williams emerged the overall super senior champion on 232. Bruce Lyn was second with 243, and Lincoln Williams finished third with the same score. However, Lyn had the best final-day score (77).

Carlysle Hudson took top honours in the super senior 13-24 handicap category with 276.

Back from a long hiatus, Maggie Lyn won the overall ladies title with rounds of 74, 76 and 75 (225).

Tiana Cruz was first with 234, and Rochelle Prince finished second with 249.

Crystal Gayle ruled the 13-24 ladies category with 262, and Juliet Bailey topped the ladies 25+ group.

A strong contingent of junior golfers came out in support of the tournament. Sandals-based Romaine Evans (240) and Austin Swaby (277) finished first and second, respectively, in the boys 16-17 category.

Andrew Azan captured the title in the boys 14-15 group with 254, while Luke Chin topped the boys 11-13 with a total of 239, finishing ahead of Jack Stein, with 240.

In the girls 11-13, Evelyn Lai won with 337.