Tue | Oct 3, 2023

Bennett happy with Tallawahs squad

Published:Friday | February 6, 2015 | 12:00 AM

Marc Stamp, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica Tallawahs' assistant coach Junior Bennett is satisfied with the composition of his squad following the Limacol/Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T/20 Draft at the Terra Nova Hotel in St Andrew yesterday.

The Tallawahs picked Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene in round two of the draft for US $100,000. Captain Chris Gayle was already retained in round one for US $150,000.

Jayawardene, apart, the other overseas players in Tallawahs' team include Daniel Vettori of New Zealand, Rusty Theron of South Africa and Australia's Chris Lynn.

"We are definitely satisfied, as when we looked at the performance of the team over the past two seasons, we have made the necessary adjustments," Bennett told The Gleaner.

"We expect the squad to do well. I really expect them to perform," he said.

Jamaica Tallawahs won the inaugural league in 2013 and lost at the semi-final round last year.

The Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel picked up retired South Africa international Jacques Kallis in round two of the draft for US$100,000.

The picks went from a high of US $150,000 to a low of US $5,000.. The Limacol/CPL T/20 is set to start in June.


The full Jamaica Tallawahs squad reads: Chris Gayle, Mahela Jayawardene, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Nikita Miller, Krismar Santokie, Narsingh Deonarine, David Bernard Jnr., Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood and Horace Miller.

Barbados Tridents: Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Ravi Rampaul, Jason Holder, Rayad Emrit, Dilshan Munaweera, Jonathan Carter, Justin Ontang, Akeal Hosein, Navin Stewart, Shai Hope and Kyle Corbin.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Christopher Barnwell, Lasith Malinga, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Brad Hodge, Veersammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Devendra Bishoo, Trevol Griffith, Assad Fudadin and Paul Wintz.

St Kitt/Nevis Franchise: Carlos Braithwaite, Devon Thomas, Oralando Peters, Justin Athanaze, Shahid Afridi, Marlon Samuels, Sohail Tanvir, Sheldon Cottrell, Martin Guptill, Ewin Lewis, Raymond Reifier, Tabriaz Shamsi, Tonito Willett, Nicolas Pooran and Jacques Taylor,

St Lucia Zooks: Darren Sammy, Kevin Pieterson, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Ross Taylor, Shakib Al Hasan, Shannon Gabriel, Henry Davids, Fidel Edwards, Kemar Roach, Shane Shillingford, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, Liam Sebastien, and Delorn Johnson.

Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel: Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Jacques Kallis, Johan Botha, Kamran Akmal, Cameron, Delport, Sulieman Benn, Jason Mohammad, Marlon Richards, Miguel Cummins, Jason Searles, William Perkins and Derone Davis.