Sat | Nov 27, 2021

FOOTBALL: Ferguson wins Manager of the Year award

Published:Tuesday | May 21, 2013 | 9:37 AM

Sir Alex Ferguson was named the League Managers' Association Manager of the Year after guiding Manchester United to a 20th title.

Manchester United drew 5-5 with West Brom in Ferguson's 1,500th and final game in charge of United yesterday.

The 71-year-old, who won 38 trophies in a 26-year reign at Old Trafford, will be succeeded by Everton's David Moyes, who takes over on July 1.

Cardiff City's Malky Mackay was the top Championship manager, while Yeovil Town's Gary Johnson was honoured as League One Manager of the Year.

Gillingham's Martin Allen won the League Two manager's award.


Like our new Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter