Sun | Jun 20, 2021

PPM wins Cayman Islands general election

Published:Thursday | May 23, 2013 | 5:21 PM

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands (CMC):

The People’s Progressive Movement (PPM) emerged as the winner in the general election in the Cayman Islands, according to results announced today.

The PPM, led by Alden McLaughlin, took 9 of 18 seats, just one shy of the majority while former Premier McKeeva Bush’s United Democratic Party (UDP) won three seats.

Five independent candidates were also victorious at the polls.

The PPM had the most success in the large George Town district, winning four of six seats, along with Bodden Town, where it won all four seats.

The UDP won three of the four seats in the West Bay district.


Like our new Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter