Thu | Jul 29, 2021

Entire JADCO board resigns

Published:Friday | November 22, 2013 | 5:17 PM

Minister with responsibility for sport Natalie Neita-Headley has reported that the entire board of commissioners at the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) has resigned effective December 31 as the government moves to restructure the doping organisation.

In a statement a short while ago Neita Headley said the resignation of the commissioners was necessary because of public perception of the existence of conflicts of interests.

The Commissioners are: chairman Dr Herb Elliot, Dr Winston Davidson, Molly Rhone, Professor Rainford Wilks, Kathy Rattray Sammuel, Senator Sophia Fraser Binns, Merlene Lawrence Wright, Joan Brown, Bishop Peter Morgan, Mike Fennel and Dr Marion Bullock-Ducasse.

The resignation came following a recent meeting with the World Anti-Doping Commission.

Neita-Headley met with WADA following revelation by former head of JADCO, Renee Anne Shirley of the lack of drug testing in the country.

She spoke out after five Jamaicans produced adverse findings in July, including former 100-metre record holder Asafa Powell, who denied knowingly taking performance-enhancing drugs.

Following Shirley’s revelations, WADA director general warned Jamaica risked expulsion from the Olympics and World Championships by the International Olympic Committee and International Association of Athletics Federations if it failed to address Shirley’s concerns.


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: