Mon | Nov 29, 2021

The Gleaner reigns at PAJ awards, takes 14 this time round

Published:Saturday | November 30, 2013 | 1:32 AM

The Gleaner has once again topped the annual Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ) National Journalism Awards; this time taking 14.

The 14 awards copped by the North Street-based multi-media company at the PAJ's award banquet at the Pegasus in New Kingston on Friday night; were two more than last year’s haul of a dozen.

The awards were presented after guest speaker, Professor Errol Morrison, president of the University of Technology, charged journalists to become advocates for science, technology, engineering and mathematics as the catalyst for development in the region.

Morrison noted that insufficient attention is being paid to these areas at various levels of the education system and said this must be quickly changed if the country is to achieve sustainable development in the near future.

He also called for the Government to consider setting up a Ministry of Higher Education, which he said would ensure university graduates are fully equipped to meet Jamaica’s demands.

The Gleaner’s Erica Virtue, Tyrone Reid and Petre Williams-Raynor tied for the most individual awards, winning two awards each.

RJR’s Dionne Jackson-Miller was named journalist of the year, while Nationwide News Network’s Rashawn Thompson won the young journalist of the year award.

Meanwhile, veteran journalist Barbara Gloudon and late former Gleaner Editor Carl Wint were inducted into the PAJ's Hall of Fame.

The Gleaner's big 14:

Aston Rhoden Award for News Photography:

Norman Grindley

Best Cover Design (newspaper):

Tennesia Malcolm

Best Entertainment Journalist:

Curtis Campbell

Excellence in Online Journalism:

Raymond Simpson

Erica Virtue

Tyrone Reid

Excellence in Tourism & Environment Reporting:

Petre Williams-Raynor

Hector Bernard/Theodore Sealy Award for News:

Gary Spaulding

Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharp Award for Best Sports Journalist:

Andre Lowe

Livingston McLaren Award for Cartoons

Lascelles May

Junior Dowie Award for Sports Photography:

Ricardo Makyn

Morris Cargill Award for Opinion Journalism:

Christopher Serju

NHT Award for Excellence in Journalism: Housing & Sustainable Development:

Petre Williams-Raynor

UNICEF Media Award for Excelling in Reporting on Children’s Rights:

Sadeke Brooks

Inaugural Sagicor Media Award for Excellence in Reporting on Health & Wellness:

Anastasia Cunningham

President’s Award for Investigative Journalism

Tyrone Reid

Erica Virtue


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: