Sun | Jun 13, 2021

CRICKET: Montego Bay Sixers win 2013 Jamaica Premier League T20

Published:Monday | December 2, 2013 | 8:50 AM

Montego Bay Sixers are champions of the 2013 Jamaica Premier League Twenty20.

The rural-area based outfit was crowned champions after dethroning the University Dynamites by four wickets at the Ultimate Oval in St Ann yesterday.

Montego Bay Sixers were led to victory by national batsman Jermaine Blackwood, all-rounder Myron Wilson and left-arm spinner Damion Distin.

Blackwood, better known for his batting, claimed 3 for 30 with his part-time off-spin, while Distin had three for 15 to help restrict University Dynamites to 144 for nine.

University Dynamites captain John-Ross Campbell top scored with 49.

Needing 145 for victory, veteran attacking batsman, Wilson made an unbeaten 46 to guide Montego Bay Sixers over the victory target.

They reached 146 for six with 14 balls to spare.

David Bernard Jr, two for 23, and left-arm spinner, Coi Thompson, two for 23, were the leading bowlers for the University Dynamites.


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: