Sat | Jun 19, 2021

CRICKET: No West Indies players listed for ICC awards

Published:Tuesday | December 3, 2013 | 4:40 PM

There are no West Indies cricketers in the running for awards at the International Cricket Council (ICC) awards ceremony later this month.

England captain Alastair Cook and fast bowler James Anderson have been named on the six-man shortlist for the 2013 ICC Cricketer of the Year award.

They are joined on the list by South Africa's Hashim Amla, Australian Michael Clarke, Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara.

Anderson, Amla and Clarke are in the running for Test Cricketer of the Year.

Joe Root is up for Emerging Cricketer of the Year while three members of England's women's team are nominated.

Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole have been short-listed for the Women's One-Day Internatinal Cricketer of the Year, while Sarah Taylor is in contention to be Women's Twenty20 International Cricketer of the Year.

Ireland pair Kevin O'Brien and Ed Joyce, along with Scotland's Kyle Coetzer, are on a four-man list for the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

This year's winners will be announced on December 14.

However, the ICC has already named Dhoni the winner of the People's Choice award voted online by fans, and nominated its Test and One-Day teams of the year.


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: