Thu | Jun 17, 2021

Jamaica among six regional countries to partake in US visa scheme

Published:Sunday | January 26, 2014 | 11:34 AM

WASHINGTON, Jan. 26, CMC – The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) has listed Jamaica among six Caribbean countries that are eligible to participate in two visa programs this year.

The H-2A and H-2B Visa programs allow US employers to bring foreign nationals to the United States to fill temporary agricultural and nonagricultural jobs, respectively.

The USCIS identified the Caribbean countries eligible to participate in the visa programs as Barbados, Belize, the Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti and Jamaica.

They are among 63 countries worldwide that have been given the privilege.

Generally, USCIS said it only approves H-2A and H-2B petitions for nationals of countries the Secretary of Homeland Security has designated as eligible to participate in the programs.

USCIS also said it may approve H-2A and H-2B petitions for nationals of countries not on the list if it is determined to be in the interest of the United States.

Effective Jan. 18, 2014, USCIS said nationals of the identified Caribbean countries are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B Visa programs.

It said the notice does not affect the status of beneficiaries who currently are in the United States in H-2A or H-2B status unless they apply to change or extend their status.

The USCIS said each country’s designation is valid for one year from January 18, 2014.

Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: