Mon | Jun 21, 2021

CRICKET: International Council gives more power to 'Big Three'

Published:Tuesday | January 28, 2014 | 12:15 PM

England, India and Australia are set to have more control over cricket's future under principles agreed by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

This was agreed on during today’s first day of the two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai.

Plans to give more power to England, India and Australia were leaked last week and strongly opposed by the boards of South Africa and Pakistan as well as the international players' union.

The creation of a new ICC executive committee of five members, including representatives from the 'Big Three' nations, received unanimous support from the 16-man board.

The ICC has also decided to scrap the World Test Championship, scheduled for England in 2017, and bring back the Champions Trophy one-day tournament in its place.

Cricket website Cricinfo described the mood on the first day as heated, before the governing body released a statement announcing the unanimous approval of a set of principles relating to the "future structure, governance and financial models of the ICC".

Among the other key changes, a new two-tier system could give ICC associate members such as Ireland the chance to play Test cricket, while a special fund is being created to help keep the five-day game alive.

The eight full members will no longer be obliged to play each other regularly after the Future Tours Programme was scrapped in favour of bilateral agreements between nations to cover Test series between 2015 and 2023.


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: