Mon | Jun 21, 2021

We are working to stay the course, says PM ahead of Budget tabling

Published:Thursday | April 3, 2014 | 1:48 PM

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller says the budget, which is to be laid in the House of Representatives this afternoon will underscore her government's commitment to restoring a broken economy.



"We are working very hard to stay on course to ensure that we move the country forward," Simpson Miller told journalists before the official opening of Parliament at Gordon House this morning.



She added: "We are going for growth and development with job creation, and whatever we do we are keeping the people at the centre,".



Finance minister Dr Peter Phillips will this afternoon tabled what he describes as a tight budget in the House of Representatives.



Simpson Miller told The Gleaner that the government will have limited fiscal space which would enable it to spend.



She said that will means that her administration will have to be very prudent, but will work to ensure that the poor and vulnerable are protected.



Tabling of Estimates of Expenditure for the new Financial Year 2014/2015



Thursday, April 3

Tabling of the Estimates of Expenditure by the Minister of Finance and Planning



Tuesday, April 8 - Thursday, April 10

Standing Finance Committee meets



Thursday, April 17

Minister of Finance opens the Budget Debate



Tuesday, April 22

Presentation by the Opposition Spokesman on Finance



Wednesday, April 23

Contribution from a Government Member

Contribution from a Member of the Opposition Member



Thursday, April 24

Presentation by the Leader of the Opposition



Tuesday, April 29

Presentation by the Honourable Prime Minister



Wednesday, April 30

Minister of Finance closes the Debate



FOR MORE STORIES WATCH:




Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica



Follow us on Twitter:

@JamaicaGleaner



Email: onlinefeedback@gleanerjm.com