Sun | Jun 13, 2021

FOOTBALL: 2014 Caribbean Cup champions to compete in Copa America

Published:Friday | May 2, 2014 | 11:00 AM

The 2014 Caribbean champion, to be decided through the Caribbean Cup in Jamaica, has been guaranteed a spot in the 2016 Centennial Edition of the Copa America.

Jamaica will host the 2014 Caribbean Cup from November 9 to 18 in Montego Bay.

Cuba are the reigning champions after beating Trinidad and Tobago in the 2012 finals, staged in Antigua and Barbuda.

With the Caribbean champion gaining a spot in the South American championships it brings to six the number of CONCACAF teams that will participate.

The Copa America features the likes of giants Brazil and Argentina, along with Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, in a 16-team field.

In an historic move, the Copa America will be played in the United States, marking the first time it will not be played on South American soil.

A Local Organising Committee will be set up shortly to begin advanced planning, and to also initiate the process by which host cities will be determined.


Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: