Sun | Feb 18, 2018

Decision Time - Delegates vote for new St Andrew South Chairman

Published:Saturday | July 30, 2016 | 12:00 AM

A new chairman for the St Andrew South constituency will be chosen today as former managing director of the Jamaica Urban Transit Company Colin Campbell faces off with Senator Mark Golding and Dr Wesley Morris for the position.

Campbell, a former government minister in the Portia Simpson Miller administration in 2006, and Golding, who held the post of justice minister in the last administration, have been pulling out all the stops to get the majority of votes from the 73 delegates who will decide the outcome of the race.

Golding, who had expressed little interest in representational politics for years, threw his hat in the ring, signalling that he wants to be the next People's National Party standard-bearer when the incumbent, Dr Omar, Davies, retires in August.

At the same time, Campbell, who first became a member of parliament in 1993 when he unseated Edmund Bartlett from the St Andrew Eastern constituency in the general election, had said he was approached by residents in the St. Andrew South constituency to succeed Davies as chairman.




Controversy stirred earlier this week when former prime minister and PNP president P.J. Patterson endorsed Golding for the chairmanship of St Andrew South, much to the annoyance of Campbell, who cried foul.

Patterson said the senator had been an understudy of Davies who understands the needs of the St Andrew South constituency.

A peeved Campbell wrote to PNP General Secretary Paul Burke complaining that Patterson's endorsement of Golding was unwarranted.

Sophia Frazer-Binns, regional director of election in charge of the PNP constituency chairman selection exercise, said everything was in place for today's exercise.

She said the rules have been put in place to ensure a smooth process and that persons can freely vote for the candidate of their choice.

The run-off between Golding, Campbell and Morris for the chairmanship of St Andrew South will begin at 2 o'clock in the afternoon.