Thu | Oct 22, 2020

Acting directors named to Integrity Commission

Published:Tuesday | May 22, 2018 | 12:00 AM
Dirk Harrison

The new Integrity Commission has named three public servants as interim directors of the three divisions of the newly established anti-corruption agency.

Former Contractor General Dirk Harrison has been assigned to act as director of the new corruption prosecution division; former secretary manager of the Corruption Prevention Commission, David Grey, has been installed as acting head of the investigation division; and Joy Powell has been appointed interim director of the information and complaints division.

The Integrity Commission Act received the governor's general's assent on October 23, 2017, and came into operation on February 22, 2018. The new statute combines the functions of three 'legacy agencies' to include the former Integrity Commission, the Commission for the Prevention of Corruption, and the Office of the Contractor General.


Agency Integration


Chairman of the Integrity Commission, Justice Karl Harrison (Ret'd), said that the assignments were made pending the identification and appointment of permanent directors by the governor general as mandated by law.

According to Harrison, the commission has pursued the institutional and administrative integration of the three legacy agencies. "In furtherance of this, the commission has taken steps to engage the necessary expertise to perform a strategic review and develop a comprehensive change management and integration plan," he added.

The strategic review would guide the competitive recruitment of key personnel, including the executive director. The commission anticipates that implementation of the plan will begin in September.

- Edmond Campbell