Tue | Aug 21, 2018

RJRGLEANER Group reporters take top honours at PAJ Awards

Published:Sunday | December 3, 2017 | 4:20 PM
Gleaner journalists pose with awards and certificates of merit presented to reporters of the newspaper at the PAJ's 2017 Awards Show at the Courtleigh Auditorium on Saturday night.

Journalists from RJRGLEANER Communications Group dominated the 2017 Press Association of Jamaica Awards on Saturday night taking the top prizes of ‘Journalist of the Year’ and ‘Young Journalist of the Year’ in addition to 14 category awards.

Television Jamaica’s Andrea Chisholm was named journalist of the year, while The Gleaner’s Syranno Baines was declared young journalist of the year.

Chief judge Patrick Harley said this year, there was a 50 per cent increase in the number of entries in 22 categories up from 143 entries in 23 categories last year.

However, he said there were some concerns about the quality of some entries.

Category winners

Carl Wint Award for human interest feature story
Corey Robinson - The Gleaner
Andrea Chisholm - TVJ

Best Radio feature/documentary 
‎Natalie Campbell - IRIE FM

Best TV Feature/documentary
Vashan Brown - TVJ
Brian Walker - CVM

Ken Dawson Award for videography
Glenford Campbell - TVJ

Junior Dowie Award for sports photography
Ricardo Makyn – The Gleaner

‎Best cover design - newspaper
Tennesia Malcolm – The Gleaner

Aston Rhoden Award for news photography
Norman Grindley – The Gleaner

Errol Harvey Award for human interest photography
Norman Grindley – The Gleaner

Morris Cargill Awards for opinion journalism 
Gordon Robinson – The Gleaner

Excellence in reporting on the environment
Janella Precius - TVJ

Best news, sports or current affairs blog
Dennis Jones
Zaheer Clarke

‎UNICEF Award for reporting on children's rights
Giovanni Dennis - RJR

Award for excellence in reporting on health and wellness
Ryon Jones – The Gleaner

Excellence in reporting on agriculture
Christopher Serju – The Gleaner

Excellence in reporting on Technology
Kaneal Gayle – Business Access TV

President's Award for investigative journalism
Nationwide News 

Hugh Crosskill/Raymond Sharpe Award for investigative journalism
Dania Bogle – The Gleaner
Jordan Forte – TVJ

Hector Bernard/Theodore Seally Award for News
Kimberley Hibbert - Observer 
Giovanni Dennis - TVJ

Carlton Alexander award for business
Kalilah Reynolds - Nationwide 

Young Journalist of the year
Syranno Baines – The Gleaner

‎Journalist of the year
‎Andrea Chisholm - TVJ