Thu | Oct 18, 2018

JFF slashes executive - Local football governors step in line with FIFA

Published:Wednesday | May 13, 2015 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp
JFF general secretary, Raymond Grant

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) cut almost 50 per cent of its executive members in order to get in line with a FIFA article that could serve to get the nation back as a beneficiary of the world football body's Performance Programme.

The FIFA Performance Programme provides financial assistance to all 209 of its affiliates. However, Jamaica has not been afforded a grant for almost a year because it had too many members on its board.

Hence, the executive body has been reduced to 17, a significant cut from 33.

The vote was made at the JFF extraordinary congress, held at Jockey International Jamaica Limited in Sandy Bay, Hanover, last Sunday.

"The JFF had conducted a series of consultation meetings over the last two years. The final agreement was given to reduce the number of executive members to 17 in order to operate similar to the other FIFA nations. All 209 FIFA countries have one vote each, so all parish associations must have equal say," general secretary of the JFF, Raymond Grant, told The Gleaner yesterday.


necessary change


Grant said the change was necessary in order for the country to get approval for the Performance Programme.

"We have changed it (number of members)," he emphasised. "At the congress last Sunday, all 86 members were present and 79 voted for the change, while seven voted against it.

The seven that voted against are affiliated to KSAFA (Kingston and St Andrew Football Association) Confederation," the JFF general secretary noted.

"For the amendment, it required 75 per cent of votes to change," he added.

"We were no longer a part of the FIFA Performance Programme ... over the last year. The process continues and we will next have to amend the JFF by-laws at the next congress that is four months away," Grant said.

The current 17 executive members are made up of the JFF president and his three vice-presidents, as well as the 13 parish association presidents.