Fri | Apr 26, 2019

Under-20s face Dominica today

Published:Wednesday | June 15, 2016 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp

Jamaica will face Dominica in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men's Under-20 Championship Group Four at the Juan Felix Sanchez Stadium in the Dominican Republic today, starting at 2 p.m. In the group's other game, hosts Dominican Republic challenge St Kitts and Nevis at 4 p.m.

A total of 16 teams will compete in the CFU group stage, and at completion, the winners of each group, the best three second-placed teams, alongside hosts CuraÁao, will advance to the final round, scheduled for October 21-26.

Then, the top eight Caribbean countries will be divided into two groups of four teams each, where the top five will represent the region in the Confederation of North Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) tournament scheduled for February 17 to March 5, 2017 in Costa Rica.


The CFU's five representatives will join four teams from the Central American Football Union and three from North America in the CONCACAF stage.

The top four teams from CONCACAF will book spots in the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in South Korea, May 20 to June 11, 2017.

Jamaica's assistant coach, Altimont Butler, admitted that the coaching staff knows nothing about Dominica and the other teams in the group.

"We don't know anything about the opponents, so we will focus on our game and see what Dominica have to offer," Butler said ahead of the squad's departure for the Dominican Republic.

"Our aim is to qualifier for the Under-20 World Cup, so we will take it stage by stage," he added.

Jamaica delegation is: Everton Tomlinson (head of delegation); Ricardo Gardner (coach); Altimont Butler (assistant coach); Howard Bell (manager); Dr Bersha Cole (team doctor); Lamar Morgan (trainer); and Omar Folkes (equipment manager).

The full squad: Jahmali Waite, Akeem Chambers, Ajanie Talbott, Maliek Howell, Neville Morgan, Jahlanie Hammond, Fabian Grant, Jahwani Hinds, Dashane Beckford, Jon Luca Levee, Kevon Lambert, Peter-Lee Vassell, Shamar Nicholson, Tyreek Magee, Nathanie Adamolukan, Akeem Prawl, Joseph Dezart, Ky-Mani Campbell, Jourdain Fletcher and Rashwan Dally.