Fri | Aug 23, 2019

Pitterson, Daley the WNC coaches for Sunshine Girls

Published:Thursday | May 12, 2011 | 12:00 AM

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer

Oberon Pitterson has been appointed as head coach of Jamaica's Sunshine Girls, who are currently preparing for the World Netball Championships (WNC) that will be held in Singapore from July 3-10.

The assistant coach is Annette Daley.

Pitterson last coached the Sunshine Girls at the Common-wealth Games in Melbourne, Australia, in 2006, when Jamaica finished fourth.

Former head coach Connie Francis was among the three coaches who were interviewed by the selection panel, which was chaired by the Jamaica Netball Association (JNA) second vice-president Dorothy Hobson.

Other members of the JNA selection panel include technical director Jill McIntosh, former national senior team head coach Maureen Hall, Dr Aggrey Irons and Don Anderson.

All three coaches were given separate opportunities to coach and impress the selectors, during the Sunshine Girls' 3-0 series victories over Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago in March; and their exciting 2-1 series win over England last month.


Pitterson is a former national senior team captain who has played at the WNC on several occasions. She also currently represents Tivoli Gardens in the Berger Paints Super League netball competition.

Daley, a lecturer at The Mico University College, has been assistant coach to Francis with the Sunshine Girls for the past five years.

Daley and Francis were the coaches of Jamaica's team which won the bronze at the last WNC, held in Auckland, New Zealand. Both women also conditioned Jamaica to a silver-medal placing at the first staging of World FastNet Series, which was held in London, England, in 2009.

Other members of the Sunshine Girls management team include team manager Hyacinth Beckford, physiotherapist Maureen Campbell, team physician Dr Praimanand Singh, and video analyst Antoinette Irons.

The JNA is scheduled to name the 12-member squad for the WNC, along with the captain and vice-captain, on May 26. The team is scheduled to depart for the WNC on June 25.