Thu | Jan 28, 2021

Sinclair, Morgan peeved at exclusion

Published:Tuesday | July 30, 2013 | 12:00 AM

André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Usain Bolt, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Hansle Parchment will lead Jamaica's 45-member team to the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, but discus thrower Jason Morgan and 800m specialist Kenia Sinclair are left considering their options after being left out.

The Jamaica Athletics Admi-nistrative Association yesterday announced the team, which will be supported by team leader Trevor Campbell and 16 other officials, including head coach Michael Clarke.

Whilst most of the selection was pretty straightforward, it

was left to be seen whether or not Parchment, the 2012 Olympic 110m hurdles bronze medallist, who missed the JAAA/Supreme Ventures Limited National Senior Championships, after injuring himself during warm-up, would be selected to the team.

The JAAA selection policy states that all athletes, except those with IAAF wild cards, must compete at the national championships, which serves as a trial, in order to be considered for selection to national teams.

Athletes who miss the trials due to injury, must advise the JAAA and apply for medical exemption, but are then required to prove and maintain competitive fitness up to the time of final entry date for the competition.

Item 7 in the JAAA's Selection Criteria states: "Athletes who are ranked/listed in the top three in the world for their event who are ill or injured at the time of the National Championships and are granted an exemption from competing at the Championships may still be considered for selection provided that they are able to prove their world ranking form prior to the final submission of the entries for the competition."

However, Parchment, who was the world leader in the event with a time of 13.05 up to the point of his injury last month, has not competed since.

Car accident

Sinclair, who has represented Jamaica since 2003, did not meet the same considerations, as the Olympic finalist, who had to miss the trials because of injuries sustained during a car accident, blasted the JAAA for what she termed as neglect, citing also that she will be looking into her options.

"They (JAAA) could have least sent me an email and checked how I was recovering. The rule is once you miss the trials you have to prove fitness going into the championships and no one even checked on me," said Sinclair, who like Parchment, has not competed since her injury.

"I was demotivated and depressed, I never felt like I had my association's support; not once. I sent them letters, my doctor sent stuff and not once did they reply," Sinclair added.

She is ranked outside of the top three in her event.

Olympian Morgan, who missed the trials because of a Citizenship Swearing-in ceremony in the United States, is the only Jamaican with a qualifying mark, with his 65.94 meeting the B qualifying mark.

"To be honest, I am very disappointed but it was beyond my control, the JAAA made their selection. Everyone knows why I missed trials - the first time in 10 years, and this was a valid reason beyond my control," said Morgan.

"I am lost for words and as time goes by I will make up my mind and decide what to do. I will continue to work hard and pray on it. Whatever I think is best for me and my future, that's is what I will do," Morgan added.


Men: Usain Bolt, Nickel Ashmeade, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nesta Carter, Jason Livermore, Warren Weir, Javere Bell, Javon Francis, Omar Johnson, Hansle Parchment, Andrew Riley, Dwight Thomas, Leford Green, Isa Phillips, Annsert Whyte, Damar Forbes, Raymond Brown, O'Dayne Richards, Oshaine Bailey, Akheem Gauntlett, Rusheen McDonald, Edino Steele.

Women: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Rosemarie Whyte, Sheri-Ann Brooks, Schillonie Calvert, Kerron Stewart, Patricia Hall, Anneisha McLaughlin, Stephenie McPherson, Novlene Williams-Mills, Natoya Goule, Andrea Bliss, Danielle Williams, Shermaine Williams, Danielle Dowie, Kaliese Spencer, Ristananna Tracey, Nickiesha Wilson, Kimberly Williams, Natasha Morrison, Carrie Russell, Christine Day, Anastasia Le-Roy.

Officials: Trevor Campbell, team leader; Deon Hemmings-McCatty, assistant manager; Dave Myrie, assistant manager; Maurice Wilson, technical leader; Michael Clarke, head coach; Fitzalbert Coleman, coach; Lennox Graham, coach; Jermaine Shand, coach; Maurice Westney, coach; Derrick McDowell, doctor; Matthew Parchment, physiotherapist; Everald Edwards, masseur; Damion Rowe, masseur; Collin Turner, masseur; Gavin James, masseur; Dwayne Davis, massuer; Dennis Gordon, team press liaison.