Mon | Aug 10, 2020

No stopping Usain and Shelly

Published:Friday | January 10, 2014 | 12:00 AM

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Awards season is in full swing and as the nation gets ready to celebrate excellence in sports, it would be nothing short of a massive surprise if 2013 Moscow-hosted IAAF World Championships stars Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce do not end up on top of the heap at tonight's RJR Sports Foundation Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards, set for the Jamaica Pegasus.

The pair has been adding considerably to their trophy cabinets over the post season and the trend is expected to continue tonight as Bolt, eyes a third straight and fifth overall hold on the coveted prize with Fraser-Pryce looking to claim her second award after last year's triumph.

Bolt and Fraser-Pryce won gold medals in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relays in Moscow to set up an expected repeat of last year's award results. Fraser-Pryce went a little further topping the Diamond Race in both the 100m and 200m, as both athletes created history, becoming the first Jamaican pair and only the third in history from the same country to walk away with the IAAF Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards in the same year at last year's gala in Monaco.

public vote

Joining Bolt on the male nominee list are world 200m silver medallist Warren Weir, 100m bronze medallist Nesta Carter and boxer Nicholas Walters.

Fraser-Pryce will come up against cricketer Stafanie Taylor; swimmer Alia Atkinson; and boxer Alicia Ashley.

The public vote - driven People's Choice Award winner will also be announced tonight, with Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson's last-minute World Cup Qualifier goal against Costa Rica; Javon Francis' 44.00 World Champion-ships silver medal winning 4x400m anchor leg; Dane Nelson's six-timer at Caymanas Park; Khadija Shaw's CFU Under-20 winning goal; and Yanique Thompson's 12.94 World Youth best 100m hurdles win at the World Youth Championships being the options.