Tue | Oct 4, 2022

Wilson will be head coach in London

Published:Tuesday | July 25, 2017 | 12:00 AMDania Bogle

After serving as technical leader of Jamaica's team to the last two International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Championships as well as the 2014 Commonwealth Games and the Rio de Janeiro Olympics, Maurice Wilson will be travelling to next month's World Championships in London as head coach.

General Secretary of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association Garth Gayle told The Gleaner that Wilson made the request to be removed from the post of technical leader so that he could concentrate on his athletes in London.

Ten of Wilson's athletes made the national team including Rasheed Dwyer, Sashalee Forbes; Demish Gaye, Jura Levy, Anastasia LeRoy; Anneisha McLaughlin-Whilby, Natasha Morrison; Yanique Thompson, Rhonda Whyte, and Ristananna Tracey.

"(Maurice) Wilson requested to (be replaced). He has 10 athletes on the national team and it's the most he has had at any championships," Gayle told The Gleaner yesterday.

Donald Quarrie, who was technical leader to the team the last time they were in London at the 2012 Olympic Games, will be technical leader again in the British capital.

"The matter of the technical delegate was a decision of the JAAA executive," said Gayle.

Meanwhile, former head coach, Michael Clarke, who was named to the team, will not be making the trip due to what The Gleaner understands are personal reasons.

"Michael Clarke will not be in London. He is unable to travel. He is not available," said Gayle.

Gayle said an alternative coach had already been named the 22-member management delegation.

"It has been done. That was factored in the team that was named."

The 56-member team is led by double world sprint champion Usain Bolt on the men's side and reigning Olympic 100m and 200m champion Elaine Thompson on the women's side.

The remaining members are:

WOMEN: Tarasue Barnett, Rushelle Burton, Simone Facey, Kellion Knibb, Shadae Lawrence, Aisha Praught, Leah Nugent, Christania Williams, Kimberley Williams, Jodean Williams, Shericka Jackson, Novlene Williams-Mills, Stephenie-Ann McPherson, Natoya Goule, Jazmine Fray, Danielle Williams, Megan Simmonds, Danniel Thomas-Dodd, and Shanieka Thomas-Ricketts.

MEN: Yohan Blake, Julian Forte, Sejoy-Jay Givans,. Michael Campbell, Tyquendo Tracey, Warren Weir, Nathon Allen, Rusheen McDonald, Peter Matthews, Steven Gayle, Jamari Rose; Omar McLeod; Ronald Levy, Hansel Parchment, Jaheel Hyde, Kemar Mowatt, Ricardo Cunningham, Ramone Bailey, Damar Forbes, Clive Pullen, Fedrick Dacres, Traves Smikle, O'Dayne Richards, and Kemoy Campbell.