Thu | Feb 9, 2023

Tufton, Williams resign from Senate

Published:Friday | November 15, 2013 | 10:44 AM

Jovan Johnson, Gleaner Writer

President of the Senate Floyd Morris has revealed that the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP) Dr Christopher Tufton and Arthur Williams have resigned from the Upper House.

Morris told the House a short while ago that the Governor General Sir Patrick Allen has received and accepted the resignations.

Meanwhile, another JLP senator, Tom Tavares-Finson requested that tributes be paid to Tufton and Williams at the next sitting of the Upper House.

Tavares-Finson is acting Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate, the post previously held by Williams.

PNP Senator K.D. Knight has questioned the reason behind the resignations.

Five of the six remaining JLP senators were present at this morning’s announcement.

They were Kamina Johnson-Smith, Robert Montague, Tom Tavares-Finson, Marlene Malahoo-Forte and Kavan Gayle

Attorney-at-Law Alexander Williams was missing.

WATCH: Andrew Holness keeps JLP crown

Like our new Facebook page:

Gleaner Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter: